Posted in Literature, Poetry

Driving Afraid and Anxious

  1. What’s that lesson that Driver’s ED taught?
  2. “Before driving, always check the…”
  3. Screw it! Shift gears already and run free!
  1. But life is inhibited by wallets.
  2. Gas to and back from Atlanta
  3. Would cost me sixty-eight dollars.
  1. Whatever, go race within Gainesville then!
  2. Above the speed limit, I am free from rules.
  3. But my guilt constrains me 10 mph within.
  1. Sometimes, I miss intersections and exits,
  2. Detours needed to get back on track,
  3. Every minute wasted in my 2012 Corolla
  1. Burdens my whole ride,
  2. Like how I self-blame every time
  3. Someone honks at me.
  1. Forget about it.
  2. Red lights give me rest,
  3. But rest is short-lived.
  1. Next up: yellow light,
  2. My cue to step harder on the gas pedal—
  3. Tricked by my mind again that I’m in hurry.
  1. A green light means I don’t have to stop,
  2. Swerve off the bridge!
  3. Forget it, I’ll take the bus instead.

Leave a comment